Still I Am Shocked

Still I am shocked
By nightly news reports
Of killings of strife, or singular
Deaths of people, senselessly
By humanity with an access
To anthologies and logic.

Still I am shocked
By how the grass is green, blue
Is the sky full of birds with wings
To escape the grip of cats
Climbing far from the harm
Of dogs who can have jobs.

Still I am shocked
By the hunger across lands
Vegetated only with cries
Of children un-fated despite
Food inexplicably tossed
Away to evaporation and rot.

Still I am shocked
By the taste of chocolate
Cake that smells different
From ripe fruit obtainable
In colors and tastes various
At odd times of the year.

Still I am shocked
By the dishonesty in common
Man cheating another to get
Along in a leisured life without
Regard to the head that sleeps
Next door without a keeper.

Still I am shocked
By the scent of a rose
Red and gold pigmented
By the sun’s warmth shining
The way for all to walk
A straight path to hope.

Still I am shocked
By fission science used
To threaten an end to us
All living in the shadows
Of error and mistrust
In a world holding its breath.

Still I am shocked
By the vast world-
Wide web that tangles
People from corners deep
Beyond seas otherwise left
Dusty and dark and strange.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Still I Am Shocked

  1. I am delighted with your poetry. I hope to keep up with what you are doing.
    SandyO

    • Shainbird says:

      Sandy, this means a lot coming from someone so inspired. I read your blog and congrats on your recent awards for accomplishments in words and in life.

  2. Excellent poem, thank you for reading my poems, I am enjoying yours very much. I have a lot of poets appearing and am trying to read as much as I can (I am a keen advocate for poetry and poets, a strong believer in the small press and a lover of the written word – of which, the poet is a king). This one has a great flow and a certain believable angst that many can relate to. Thanks for sharing 🙂 Kind regards, Baldy 🙂

    • Shainbird says:

      Thank you Baldy! Your beliefs are powerful! Words can bring about a better world. In a contradiction to the nightly news, I have read so much positive stuff in the blogosphere. Keep up the goodness 🙂

  3. Martian Poet says:

    so profound concerns for the human kind.. god will give the answer for the human if we use science to exploite ourselves.

Type me what you think.

