As I Drift Off

As I drift off leaving my abode,
Come visions remote, of seeds I’ve sowed.
A flame-haired man entered like a thief,
Running amok, wielding a steel leaf,
Killing on contact, then out he strode.

I met loveliness perched on a road
Like an angel, a kiss I bestowed.
Pain, love, fear, hope, all is my belief
As I drift off.

I wake glad from nightmares that implode.
Of dreams pleasured, my heart is sorrowed.
Scrooge and his senses doubted this grief
As an ‘undigested bit of beef’.
My journeys –  poppycock to unload
As I drift off.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

This was written for the prompt by Because We’re Poets . Check them out! They are making waves in poetry through collaborations and bright ideas. 

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to As I Drift Off

  1. Pingback: Stain: a Rondeau | The Arkside of Thought

  2. Pingback: Thursday Poetry Prompt#1 : Dream Rondeau | Bastet and Sekhmet

  3. Bastet says:

    😉 Oh nightmares that implode! I Like it very much!

  4. Pingback: Tuesday Results: Thursday Prompt #1 | We Drink Because We're Poets

  5. Shainbird says:

    Thank you Bastet!

  6. poppycock is a much underappreciated word that someone should champion, so much more fun to say than certain expletives (of which I am often guilty). Good poem 🙂

  7. Yes, I like poppycock too!

Type me what you think.

