Father’s Decoration

Father’s decoration,
In Mother’s arms
You were unveiled
Like a secret gift
Absconded by angels
In the infancy of the day
On May twenty three, sweet,
Caring, emotional, angry, skeptical
Like a dandelion in early life whose fragile
Seed head scatters easily by high winds or summer wishes,
To be dispatched unknowingly to bloom many blooms far off,
Gilded in beauty unappreciated like hope after the death of tears.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Father’s Decoration

  1. Hello Shainbird!
    That has some really hard vibes! Fathers seem to be the ones to take the brunt of everything. My father I thought was so mean because he had trouble waking me up in the morning for school. I have chronic allergies & the medicine I take at the time was making me really sleepy. So my father did what he thought was necessary to wake me up. I thought at the time that he was someone I would still not like to this day except until I hear from a couple bloggers about their own fathers. This made me think differently of how he was helping me & discipline me for later on as I grew up.
    This is a great poem. Thanks for coming to my blog & reading. I hope to see you again sometime soon.
    Rod

  2. This day is a special one for me too – I liked this poem very much.

  3. heartbreaking and excellent. Nice flow, some super lines linke ‘in the infancy of the day’ (which I thought was wonderful, the perfect ‘poet’ way to say ‘morning’ or ‘dawn’) and ‘like a dandelion in early life whose fragile seed head scatters easily’. Brilliant poem, dear heart, thank you so much for sharing this 🙂

Type me what you think.

