Double Seven

Note: Sahm at Because We’re Poets gave us Poetry Prompt #7: It’s a Gamble!: “Take a chance!  This one ought to be a bit of fun.  Hand-write a poem, something encouraging, in any form that you would like.  Once finished, take a photo of your poem, and, if and when you get the chance, give that poem to somebody – anybody – that you think could be inspired by it.  What I mean is, if you know someone that is hesitant about taking that first step towards writing their first book, or perhaps if you know someone who wants to change jobs but is afraid to make a move not because they can’t do it, but because they are unsure of themselves, give them your poem!  It doesn’t even have to be someone you know.  You could do what I’ve done, write the poem, and just leave it a place where people congregate, such as your local Starbucks.  Call it a Random Act of Poetry!”

dice.copyright.shainbird

I was at the hospital visiting a friend and didn’t have much to do. So I grabbed a paper towel and placed this sonnet in the prayer room of the hospital. Peace and Godspeed to all who are battling illness and disease and also for their families and friends. May we never take for granted our own health.

prayerroom.copyright.shainbird

Double Seven

Warm dice in the darkness of your cupped hand,
Skipping across light like clouds in heaven,
All eyes on which black dots on white will land,
None but you have rolled a double seven.
Karma, kismet, fate? Serendipitous –
You will walk away in strength and in love.
No chance of a crap shoot, life within us
Challenges the best in a test above.
Locked in your heart, your soul or your small toe,
Never did you need a trinket or sign
To achieve your goal, to battle your foe,
Becoming better day by day – you’ll shine.
Rabbit’s foot, wishbone, clover with leaves four?
Patience, prayers and hope for evermore.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Double Seven

  1. Sahm King says:

    Shainbird, you shine brightly.

    • Shainbird says:

      Thanks Sahm 🙂 I love your idea of “A Random Act of Poetry’, so I had to include it on the napkin! I think it could evolve into something greater, like when you were speaking of giving poetry a greater presence in our world.

      • Sahm King says:

        Yeah, when I saw what you did, I hadn’t even expected that someone would write their poem right then and there on a napkin. That is way cool! And perhaps this will help, in some way, lend to poetry’s greater presence. Poetry really needs to make a comeback.

  2. ladysighs says:

    What a neat idea. And I like your poem too.
    I rarely write a poem while sitting at the computer. Usually on a scrap of paper while at the doctor’s office or even driving to town and I have an idea and jot on the back of a grocery list.
    Well, I’m not actually driving……just riding along. 🙂

    I’m thinking how valuable those scraps of paper would have been if I hadn’t torn them up and tossed. What a legacy to have left for my kids from their famous mom. They are going to kill me. 😦

  3. Pingback: Monday Poetry Prompt #7 Results! Jackpot! | We Drink Because We're Poets

  4. cindy knoke says:

    I am impressed! From a prompt no less. Bravo~

  5. Bastet says:

    Brilliant! What a beautiful interpretation of the prompt!

  6. Michael Davis says:

    As the Chaplain for the hospital where you left this, it was left entirely anonymously. I found it Tuesday, as pictured in the photo. I referred to it tonight in the invocation at the Board of Managers meeting. Your “random act” has gone beyond randomness. Thank you for sharing. This is beautiful. May I encourage you to place a “non-picture” version of this somewhere so search engines can find it? It’s just so amazing.

Type me what you think.

