My Father, My Heart

My Father honors me
By his lineage, unrecognized
By a flashy world. He journeys
Long and hard emitting sparks
From a view above, resonating notes
That ripple upon seas in hearts. A clever
Man of numbers, a wise man of words,
Whose muscles ache by livelihood
On whose lips never utter a word.
A humble man manifesting a writer,
A philosopher, a peacemaker, a father.
Calling me his eyes, his heart, his father.
He darkens the sun by the brilliance
Of his thoughts, elevates the land
By the pressure of his feet, sweetens
The air by the sweat of his brow, stops
The clock by the beauty of his speech.
He bewilders Mother by the love
In his heart, helps another by the fold
Of his hand, turns the night by the prayer
On his lips, soothes the pain with the hope
In his soul. His existence is the world
Cradled in logic. He is my heart that pumps
Life and my eyes that see it. He is my Father.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Father, My Heart

  1. TCM256 says:

    Read this to my father on Father’s Day and dad was really moved. Absolutely one of my favs!

  2. Bastet says:

    So beautiful! A wonderful portrait lucky son of lucky father!

    • Shainbird says:

      Thanks so much Georgia! But I must tell you it comes from a grateful daughter 🙂 My pen name is misleading (it is actually an anagram of my real name).

  3. You are great for writing about your father! This post was written well. I like it a lot.
    Rodney

Type me what you think.

