Christmas in July

AliceinWonderland1933

Alice in Wonderland, 1933 Version

Perhaps there’s no snow,
No manger scene, nor ‘ho, ho, ho’,
Yet noses are red and spirits are high
Charged by the sun in this hot July.
No, not nipped by Jack Frost
Although to read Robert Frost
‘Neath the starry, summer sky
Is plenty happiness if I should die.
To be immersed in words of Thoreau
Feels as good as ‘neath the mistletoe,
To pray for peace in every land,
This thought in every grain of sand
On every beach along the shore.
But I’d be greedy, I’d ask for more.
To unwrap tales of Saki – H.H. Munro,
To douse the heat with a little Poe,
O. Henry’s climax, Twain’s satire
Give me joy on this earth afire,
A few delights by James Thurber
As the sun is setting by now, for sure.
I’d like to think if we should pass,
We’d greet each other like in mass,
A gift in this season on holiday,
Near, far, even if at home you stay.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

Note: Check out Cindy Knoke’s post, which inspired me to spend time with Thoreau.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Christmas in July

  1. Sahm King says:

    Reblogged this on The Arkside of Thought by Sahm King and commented:
    People, Shainbird is on point. Check out her latest!

  2. Bastet says:

    Lovely idea and poem…You’ve put me to mind to read my Favorite Christmas stories!

    • Shainbird says:

      Responding to these so late, what are your favorite Christmas reads?

      • Bastet says:

        The Christmas Carol and ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas come straight to mind, though there are others. Every year we would read the Christmas Carol when my youngest was little…’til he said…Mom, I know it by heart! So, we passed to films of the Christmas Carol. 🙂

  3. julespaige says:

    Peace in every grain of sand… Cindy is a dear to inspire us all 🙂
    Thank you for your visit.

  4. cindy knoke says:

    How absolutely stunning. While you were reading Thoreau and composing, I was reading Walden. How perfect is this for our summer days! I’m a big Frost fan too…..Cheers to you & thank you~

  5. I am so grateful that there is a Christmas in July we see even if it brings sales to people in July. Life in July using Christmas is so demanding when out & about & get to try & see who gets things then. It reminds me of Black Friday in a way. I like your poem as it brings memories to me at times. You really have good thoughts.
    Rodney

Type me what you think.

