Lament of a Deathbed

Would you visit me at my deathbed?
Oh cast not shadows upon a place of love.
Would you remind me of tears once shed?
I know not of such times you speak of.
Would you hold my hand up to the end?
I kiss this hand that where’s my ring.
Would you regret times we didn’t spend?
I would banish them if I were king.
Would you remember my every role?
I am you and you, me in one capacity.
Would you be reading for my departing soul?
I am blinded and could not see.
Would you miss me when I’m gone?
I would as if my heart did depart.
Would you remain without me strong?
I would not know where to start.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lament of a Deathbed

Type me what you think.

