Riding Shoes

My mother points out how my shoes are always riding: sitting
Empty one upon another at the disembarkation of my footing.
She says it’s an omen, a sign of a trip to come – to be bound
Far from home. As I look back at them on uneasy ground,
My shoes speak louder than whispers far past midnight
Of an itch to travel that breaks skin bleeding bright,
Painting a pathway leading away from the grind,
My bags packed in the readiness of my mind.
I hear the ocean waves recede from sands,
The honking of old cars in foreign lands,
I feel time and place slightly askew
Speaking in smiles under the blue.
An unintended nudge to reality,
This occurrence is a reverie.
At times, now and then,
It happens once again
Like a link broken
Another token
of shoe
On shoe.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

Please take time to discover great writing by great poets at Open Link Night – Week 105, sponsored by dVerse – celebrating their 2nd anniversary!

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Riding Shoes

  1. claudia says:

    smiles….The honking of old cars in foreign lands… my shoes def. can tell a similar story… they just want to discover new ground…smiles… welcome at dVerse and oh the wanderlust…smiles

  2. That worked! Beautifully and sooo clever SB

  3. ha…that is really cool…i like the countdown of lines…peoples shoes def have a lot to say…love how you wrap back at the end as well…welcome to dVerse!

  4. Shoes tell good stories. I especially like the line about your bags being packed in readiness for the mind. Here’s a shoe poem I wrote not long ago: http://www.looseleafnotes.com/2011/08/a-koan-poem/

Type me what you think.

