Word of the Day

On Dictionary Dot Com
The word of the day
Is poetaster
Makes my heart
Beat faster
To think if I’m
Not versed
In verse,
Am I instead cursed?
Duped in playing
Games with words
Yet feeling alive
When I scribe.
What hails
Or ails poetry…?
Hey,
That’s only
Today.
Who knows what
Tomorrow’s word
May relay:
(a less known usage for inspiration?)
Or, let me check with Webster,
Hang on a sec…
I’m sure Merriam is kinder:
addlepated: being mixed up, confused
Never mind her.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Word of the Day

  1. Bastet says:

    Poetaster???? Sound like some kind of disaster….unless it’s a poet taster…a taster of poets…shivers run up my spine…I think I’d prefer to be addlepated…add le patè D.

    • Shainbird says:

      Very good, Georgia. I thought the same thing about disaster. I’m sure if poets had a taste it would be slightly smoky with a hint of bittersweetness and wouldn’t cause indigestion.

Type me what you think.

