Honor – A Paradelle

Note: Papi at Because We’re Poets has given us Thursday Poetry Prompt #12: “Honor What does it mean to you. What does it say? Yes, a one word prompt, and your form is whichever you choose to use today.”

I know what honor is but I could not show you.
I know what honor is but I could not show you.
Like an angel unrecognized without wings.
Like an angel unrecognized without wings.
Like you, I could not honor an angel without
What is unrecognized, but wings show – I know.

In stature above the meek below conceit.
In stature above the meek below conceit.
Echoes made by a tongue anchored to the heart.
Echoes made by a tongue anchored to the heart.
Above, the anchored stature made by a tongue
In conceit, echoes below to the meek heart.

Altruistic limbs expended to understand.
Altruistic limbs expended to understand.
Casting shadows aurora lit by love sans regret.
Casting shadows aurora lit by love sans regret.
To understand altruistic regret expended
By aurora limbs casting love lit sans shadows.

Honor is altruistic shadows expended to know
The stature by a heart, tongue, by limbs
Casting wings above without regret below,
Echoes love made sans conceit in the meek
Aurora, you, lit, unrecognized, anchored to show
An angel, I could not but like what I understand.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

Please also read other takers of this prompt: 

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Honor – A Paradelle

  1. tjtherien says:

    very interesting use of repetition here…well done

  2. Rob says:

    I was totally unfamiliar with a paradelle, so I had to look up what is was as a poetic form and learned a bit of its history. I don’t think I’ll be trying it anytime soon – too difficult!

    Nicely done 🙂

    • Shainbird says:

      I stumbled upon this while exploring uncommon poetry forms. It is really an exercise in word arrangement and rearrangement, (come to think of it that goes for all poetry) Thanks for reading Rob 🙂

  3. Sahm King says:

    What an interesting form. I’ll have you know, I had to read this more than once to wrap my head around it. I think you went above and beyond with this one, Shainbird. Not that you don’t ever go above and beyond. There’s just something…particularly striking about this piece. Reminds me sort of, of the same effect that story you wrote to the music had. Well done.

  4. Bastet says:

    What an interesting form…I’d never seen it before today…but then I’ve never seen a lot of things! Great poem Shainbird…very inventive! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Thursday Poetry Prompt: Honor | Bastet and Sekhmet

  6. BLU says:

    Nice, Shainbird. I read your poem out loud with two different voices, it was interesting and fun.

    • Shainbird says:

      Thanks Blu, I’m curious, you have me guessing with what kind of voices (as Sahm is a master at this) 🙂

      • BLU says:

        For example, the first line was spoken with my normal tone of voice, but the second one was spoken with the voice of “conscience” which was deeper and more intense. Let me show you what I mean… http://youtu.be/ZtQEXW0lVts?t=3m25s

        • BLU says:

          Btw, Sahm and I watched this movie couple of weeks ago. Great movie!

        • Shainbird says:

          Aah, I see what you mean, had a re-read myself and it seemed to turn it into a dialogue, really fascinating and dimensional (and like the scene in the movie, it added up to a questioning). I wonder if you have put your finger on what is meant by the repetition in this form. Thanks for your influence 🙂

  7. Pingback: Thursday Poetry Prompt #12 Results! | We Drink Because We're Poets

  8. Good God girl that worked. and the line 5/6 reassemble… nice. Reminds my of Bastet’s prompts, back in May. Reading up the comments, I see it’s an existing form. Man, I have a lot of learning to do. Love it… rich meanings in there.

    • Shainbird says:

      Thank you Jim, you have me in smiles. These prompts make amazing bridges to explorations! I thank BWP too for getting the juices flowing 🙂

      • Seriously. I am getting addicted to their prompts. And status fb updates. Like an addict.

        • Shainbird says:

          Hey better than most addictions – gotta feed the muses! I hope our suppliers never run out 🙂

          • Amen to that SB. Been thinking about the liberating limitations of form all afternoon..

            • Shainbird says:

              Thats sound oxymoronic, forms that liberate 🙂 But you are absolutely correct Jim, in that during amazing moments the creation valve breaks and the flowing is uncontrolled and prompts do that for me. I think there are unknown perimeters that keep me writing along a certain path and to break away, I respond to prompts. I end up straying and I love getting lost and the discoveries made without safeguards are great. I am reading on forms now and perhaps the most complex I’ve seen is the sestina, 39 lines and something about taking the interior of lines and repeating them, I forgot but it must be like Dr. Frankenstein’s experiment. Some day…

              • This reminds me of a saying I heard, “A train is most free sailing smoothly down the tracks” I cant help but let my thoughts stray on the topic… So are marriages. And this principal speaks to things like religious prayer, and the freedom found in meditation… a big principal (and lesson) indeed!

  9. belsbror says:

    Hi! I nominated you for the Best Moment Award. Please get the badge at http://wp.me/p32YrK-48 and get more info. Have a great Sunday. 🙂

Type me what you think.

