Writer’s Remorse

Never in the process of writing have I felt regret,
Never with words streaming will I ever be in debt.
As thoughts transform from world to mind to pen,
There won’t be a place to keep me hemmed in.
Nowhere in this journey on an unknown course
Will I ever, for any word released, feel remorse.
For every writer there must exist some sorrows,
Of my wordless yesterdays unlike my morrows.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Writer’s Remorse

  1. words4jp says:

    beautiful – this is true.

  2. absolutely superb! I always see something special in your poetry, dear heart. Sorry for the long absence, hope you are well, keep smiling and keep writing, kind regards from Baldy 🙂

  3. Interesting that you tagged this as “regret” since most of the poem came across as rather optimistic and, frankly, un-regretful. Your first six lines express an almost provocative determination to remain positive and upbeat, and only in your last two lines does a tinge of remorse become apparent. Am I reading this right?

    • Shainbird says:

      Yes, Elliot, you are reading this very right, in that everything is optimistic about the process of writing – even when writing about things that are regretful in life, the writing process I believe is never remorseful. The last two lines elude to the fact that my only regret lies outside of writing in that I look back at my past when I never documented my feelings and experiences with words that I could relive today through a simple read.

Type me what you think.

