Trespass

Do not trespass beyond the truth
To risk having your sincerity
Shot off in hopes of gaining
Access to manipulation, to be
Rendered a liar, limping forever
Unbalanced before the wary
Eyes of purveyors of verity.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Trespass

  1. Sahm King says:

    May I reblog this?

  2. tjtherien says:

    nice one

  3. Sahm King says:

    Reblogged this on The Arkside of Thought by Sahm King and commented:
    Short. Potent. A sharp piece that brooks no nonsense. Check it out, my friends.

    • Shainbird says:

      Thanks Sahm, aka purveyor of poetry 🙂

      • Sahm King says:

        You know, Shainbird? I never, ever really believed I would find a passion for something this early in life. Poetry has kept me sane where life would see me undone. I appreciate seeing what people think. Poetry adds to my happiness.

        • Shainbird says:

          Oh yes, I have an unfinished piece that says something like “I live in the luxury of poetry though I don’t have much…”. It is life altering, really, these little snippets, I’m glad you have this added love in your life, Sahm, I can see by the way you deal with it that it is personified, a live entity. It is a mystery to me why people don’t read more poetry.

  4. Mikels Skele says:

    Good advice, and yet, we will, won’t we?

    • Shainbird says:

      You’re right, I guess they stopped posting the signs for all of society! Although, I have met a few people who have these signs tacked up in their hearts. Thanks for your input Mikels 🙂

  5. Rob says:

    I think this is great and right to the point! I agree with you and Sahm – why don’t people read more poetry?

    • Shainbird says:

      Thanks Rob! There are so many excuses for people not to read poetry: TV, Internet, life, it’s just not done anymore? And there are so many reasons to read poetry: it is short (in that a complete thought can be read between free moments in the day), it is a reflective medium. I would think of those who do read poetry, a lot of them also write it, I don’t think that goes for prose, novels have a non-writer audience as a majority. Poetry needs a comeback, a revival in general society. I’m sure there are pockets of poetry societies here and there.

  6. Excellently said. Once a liar, ever a liar, at least in the eyes of another, eh? I think a lot of people, including myself, can relate to this poem.

  7. Bastet says:

    Sincerity…being true to oneself, lessons well learned. A powerful poem Shainbird a potent thorn, sharp and to the point!

Type me what you think.

