Beyond an Empty Page of White

Note: Sahm at Because We’re Poets has given us Monday Poetry Prompt #15: Triolet.

Beyond an empty page of white,
I wish I had a writing place
To read and write and write my right
Beyond an empty page of white,
Parley with muses past the night
On words and rhymes, we’d fill the space
Beyond an empty page of white
I wish I had a writing place.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

Please also check out other takers of this prompt:
Will You Forgive Me? by Sreejit
The Beat of Numbers @ Lyrical Fish
Monday Poetry Prompt #15: Triolet @ Still Doing Something
Silly Poem About My Poems – Part 3 @ Stain
Tumultuous Triple Triolets @ How Anxious
Triolets by Eliza (in the comments sections, read all four of them!)
A Triolet for We Drink by Scott
Color Me Blind in Shades of Void by Sahm
Lament #1 by Lilith
Harvest Coming by Bastet

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Beyond an Empty Page of White

  1. tjtherien says:

    I really bungle these refrain poems… I like how your refrains pull this piece together…

    • Shainbird says:

      Thanks Tim, I had to make a few changes after I published it, some lines didn’t feel right. But I look at refrains like they are freebies. I begin with the refrained couplet, making them go hand-in-hand, then I lay out the refrains, then work to fill in the gaps. To quote Gary, it’s like a construction project.

  2. Pingback: We Drink Poetry Prompt #15: Triolet Poem – Color Me Blind In Shades of Void | The Arkside of Thought by Sahm King

  3. Bastet says:

    I love your white page! Great job done here!

  4. Sahm King says:

    Oh… Shainbird, first off, you should know you’ve written an incredible piece here! You should also be thanked for reminding me of how I could have included Eliza! 🙂

  5. Pingback: A Triolet Poem: Harvest Coming | Bastet and Sekhmet

  6. lyricalfish says:

    Wow. It is just….perfect.

Type me what you think.

