The Trill of Love – A Choka

Note: I am fulfilling two prompts with one post. Bastet, for Pixelventures: The Unexpected, has said “keep your eyes opened for something out-of-place, something that surprises you.” She also gave us the prompt of a Japanese form, the Choka. So I have combined picture and form. 

cicadafeeding.copyright.shainbirdJPG

Cicada molting © Shainbird

I will shed my past
leaving the safeguards of yore
to perch high in day and night
and cry out loudly
’til my chest explodes with hope
for you, my dear lady – all
for the trill of love
in your company
for which I shall always call.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

The above picture is a cicada transitioning from his nymph shell to reveal beautifully veined, green wings. He will amplify his singing in hopes of attracting a female cicada. Cicada calls can reach up to 120 decibels, (reminds me of Stanley calling for Stella in A Streetcar Named Desire). I returned later to find the cicada had left the empty shell behind. I collected it in a jar. Not until I came upon this extraordinary sight, did I recall a teacher I had who wore the discarded nymph shells like pins on her sweater. 

Please read other takers of these prompts:
Sandbox by Bastet
Bees and Summer Dew by Sahm
The Poet and the Peasant Farmer’s Wife by Tim
Old Gull by Bastet
Guardian by Lilith
Whirlygig Windmill by Bastet
Fisherman by Bastet
Choka 1 by Ye Olde Foole
Choka 2 by Ye Olde Foole

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Trill of Love – A Choka

  1. Sahm King says:

    See… I don’t know how you do this. You talk about so much packed into a short form? I think you’ve pretty well mastered expression through brevity. This is gold! 🙂

  2. Bastet says:

    This is doubly fantastic for me! You’ve done me a great honor and both efforts are fantastic! And you were worried you couldn’t find something unexpected! 🙂

    • Shainbird says:

      Georgia, it is you who has done me a service, in that you encourage us with the prompts, especially with the picture, as I did not anticipate anything, and then you came up with the Choka! You, Sahm and Lilith and every prompt maker does a good turn and has a hand in helping to create. Ciao bella!

  3. oh oh oh you have NO clue how this spoke to me!!

    Like my beloved speaking to me thru you (or my delusions of grandeur lol!) for he has often compared himself to a cicada as of late and he HAS come out of his reclusive shell of hoodies and shades…. oh my goodness ❤

  4. Pingback: Choka: Fisherman | Bastet and Sekhmet

  5. Bastet says:

    Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet and commented:
    This is a double pleasure! Two of my prompts have been taken on and in the way that pleases me very much…a photo for Pixelventures and a Choka for Bastet and Sekhmet!

  6. teriffic, a pleasure to read. well done with the prompts, cleverly written, loved it 🙂

  7. Pingback: Pixelventures’ Photo Finish: 14 August 2013 | We Drink Because We're Poets

Type me what you think.

