Hosting a Muse

Note: Lilith has given us Goddess Prompts: Mono-rhyme, of which she says is “one of my most favorite forms and in some way the most challenging. Therefore, I want to see what my fellow verse-smiths have up their sleeves using this fun and rhythmic form.”

Slow going, my day’s not prime
Without reason, lacking rhyme.
I begin the sentence: I’m…..
But my muse, usually sublime,
Is playing games of pantomime,
Not a sound, not even a chime!
I finally realized my crime:
I did not leave him pie – key lime
Nor his favorite pizza with thyme.
Must I always make this climb
of bribes and perks for his time?
I could sell him for one, thin dime.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hosting a Muse

  1. Hahahaha!! BRAVO!!! 😀

  2. Reblogged this on 5 Degrees Of Inspiration and commented:
    Another answer to my prompt!!

  3. Bastet says:

    Great go here! Mono-rhymes are actually very tricky things…you did a wonderful job!

  4. tjtherien says:

    two more lines and you would have had yourself a Monorhyme Sonnet… lol…nice job Shain…

    • Shainbird says:

      Thanks Tim, I think I fell short as I ran out of rhymes, I couldn’t get ‘grime’ to fit anywhere. This one actually reflects my day today, busy and no muse in sight.

Type me what you think.

