Dead Trees

deadtree.copyright.shainbird

© Shainbird

Summer winds tickle leaves
Of trees growing beside,
A dead tree doesn’t laugh
Whose limbs are petrified.
Sullen and without sway,
Barely a shade to provide,
Yet it looms high above
Beyond personas belied.
Arms outstretched, reaching
Like memoirs verified.
Standing firm against death
In poised elegance – a guide
For mere mortal
To ponder and abide.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Dead Trees

  1. Bastet says:

    Oh so suggestive. This is splendid…and brings to mind petrified memories…love it.

  2. skywanderer says:

    This poem brought tears into my eyes. Amazing wisdom shown via a mesmerising imagery.

    I absolutely love your poetry. You are a real master of metaphors, word-choice, word-play, rhythm and rhymes, and all that in a stunningly diverse realm of thoughts, impressions and emotions.

    • Shainbird says:

      Dear SkyWanderer,

      It is a wondrous thing to hear that one’s creative thoughts could move another individual. I am honored by your words that leave me more inspired yet at a loss to find the right words to express my gratitude. Thank you so much, I truly appreciate your time spent with me.

  3. Sahm King says:

    Reblogged this on The Arkside of Thought by Sahm King and commented:
    Even dead trees are beautiful. Great words from Shainbird.

  4. really struggling with time and having computer problems at present, pal. I will be back as soon as possible to read more of your magnificent poetry. best wishes from baldy 🙂

    • Shainbird says:

      Thank you Baldy! I understand perfectly, I have been struggling with time as well, I feel so guilty for not keeping up with some of the great stuff out here, your work sits on my heart! I hope your computer gets well soon, dear friend. Thanks always and best wishes!

  5. “Standing firm against death” – great determination in the lines, Shain!

Type me what you think.

