To Turn, To Know – A Rondelet

datefarm.copyright.shainbird

Date Farm in Southern California © Shainbird

To turn, to know
By Earth’s revolutions songs change,
To turn, to know
A thought, a deed curves seeds to sow;
Dark corners on a sphere rise strange,
Yellowed dreams, still sensed, can arrange
To turn, to know.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

Note: Bastet of Pixelventures gave us picture prompt: Earth.  “Earth is the element that is the center of all the elements.  Everything is born and returns to the Earth.  It is the womb and it is the tomb.  Earth is also symbolically the Universe.  Earth is roundness and curves.  Earth is nutrition and where we walk.  Earth’s place in the seasons is the so-called middle season, that is the period between one season and another when change begins. Earth’s color is yellow, it’s taste is sweet, the emotion is sympathy or compassion, its sound is singing, the smell is sweet and pleasant, and it’s associated with food and digestion, it’s organs are the stomach and the spleen/pancreas.”

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to To Turn, To Know – A Rondelet

  1. Pingback: Pixelventures Photo Finish: 4 September 2013 | We Drink Because We're Poets

  2. Bastet says:

    Well I love this photo and the poem is just so suited. I stopped the presses and got you in just under the line!

    • Shainbird says:

      I am not realizing how fast time is flying lately, missing a lot of stuff on the reader 😦 , but I loved this prompt you gave us, so thank you so much for getting me in Georgia 🙂

      • Bastet says:

        🙂 yes I’ve noticed you’ve been very busy…and I can’t keep up with the reader either…if I didn’t have these comments and notifications I’d be up a creak…I don’t even have much time for F.B. and my posts are mostly scheduled :-/

  3. Cubby says:

    Such an interesting photo! Love the lyrical words you chose for it. A beautiful write. 🙂

Type me what you think.