Triad of Darkness

So many paths before convergence,
Do ye know? Yes? No? Maybe?
Crossroads like ribbons in the wind,
Knows ancient goddess Hecate.

Ruling the moon and darkness
Back to back to back, she stands.
Sorceress to ghosts and earth
With torches firmly in her hands.

Sending fates like paper planes
Into the realms of the underworld,
Communicating with the dead
To predict a future unfurled.

With herbs and poisonous plants –
A Caesar salad made with malice,
Untraced by mortals of greed,
Drinking to her by golden chalice.

Guarding entry ways, yet
Never captured this one in three
By vintage camera nor through
The inventions of modernity.

Copyright Β© 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

Note: This was written for The Mythology Workshop run by Oloriel, where she gave us individual prompts. She gave me: Hecate, Caesar salad, a chalice, a vintage camera, ribbons and a paper plane.Β 

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Triad of Darkness

  1. “A caesar salad made with malice” <—you know this line will ring in my memory for days. I actually ate a Caesar salad once with sour dressing.. i felt the malice!

  2. Cubby says:

    Ah, the prompt! Very nicely done! πŸ™‚

    • Shainbird says:

      Thank you Cubby! Oloriel had an amazing idea in giving us each exclusive prompts, she was quick to assign them too, mythology and ordinary objects are quite a challenge to bring together.

  3. Bastet says:

    Very well done, interesting prompt too! I loved your fates sent like paper planes…I could just see them buzzing by!

  4. skywanderer says:

    Wow – what a ground-breaking masterpiece this is!
    I can grasp only several dimensions at each line, yet I know I haven’t even covered a fraction of the whole space.

  5. Oloriel says:

    I adore the way you approached this prompt, picked it apart, then used the words to construct such a multidimensional piece. I loved that you included additional traditional mythology and signs and omens and places of Hecate, such as crossroads, which are her famous landmark and the image of crosroads like ribonns is just magnificent: there is so many things I can associate it or connect it to, which gives me the indepth love for this poem, that moment in which they are still your words, but in a way we can share them and they can be mine as well: we can be at the same place at the same time.
    I loved the rest of the images and the way that you used them as well, I like how you used them to depict the 21st century, as something so known, yet perhaps more deep and esoteric then what we think. it made me feel like maybe a paper place I saw one day on the curb, was actually Hecates hand stirring my path. I liked the ending and how she cannot be captured, I liked the ease of reading, ease of enjoying the images and how little it takes for me to imagine myself in them, yet they do make me think and rethink stuff in my head.
    For the workshop part:
    -I really love the construction of the poem and I loved your grammar. I always enjoy a poem more when people use predisposition.
    -At this part:”With torches firmly in hands.” – you do not use “her” or “the”, and so it stands out from the rest of the construction and I think perhaps adding it would help perfect the flow of this verse.
    -“Untraced by mortals of greed,” – I found this to be the only line that challenged me to understand it, the mortals of greed part, I was not sure if the mortals were constructed of greed, consisting of greed, emiting/showing/behaving in greed or serving under greed, or similar. It is still great, non the less:D

    Overall, I adore what you did with the prompt, you connected the random words masterfully, and crafted a beautiful tale, I am sure Hecate would be delighted this to be her hymn πŸ™‚ You really made the images stand out and you mixed the auras and sentiments of old and new quite well.

    • Shainbird says:

      Selena, you’ve handed me perhaps the hardest prompt I’ve ever attempted and your critique of this piece is so wonderful that I feel even better now than when I completed the poem. I’ve kept coming back everyday to this ever since you gave it to me and I kept saying “no, not today,” at times I felt quite perplexed as Mythology has only been a distant acquaintance. I love how you can relate to this, makes me smile, and how you take on the images to pursue personal experiences. πŸ™‚ You are quite right about the flow in adding ‘her’ to hands, I did actually hover over that and feel the jerk of the words – your response is so natural and correct. Thank you! Trying to tie in all the objects was quite difficult, I had to use the ‘greed’ of mortals eating the spiked salad without knowing it, to tie into the sorcery of Hecate, which was a plus when I discovered she utilized poisonous herbs, I hope this is understandable. Thank you so much Selena, first for this very imaginative prompt, which hinges on exclusion, I must say you came up with them instantly and brilliantly. Second for your critique of my work – this is so forthright of you, you remind me of a college professor, the way you take the poem at each segment and then in general, I am in awe of your wisdom to enter the lair of others and profess such wise words. And lastly for giving us wonderful roads that lead us away from our securities and inhibitions and into wondrous lands that otherwise would have been untapped.

  6. I enjoy how you used the prompt “Caesar salad” : “A Caesar salad made with malice” – well done!

  7. Pingback: Mythology Workshop #1 – Wrap up! | The 13th Floor Paradigm

  8. C.K. Hope says:

    I loved how you used the prompts paper planes and Ceasar salad! Especially the ceasar salad line, it will be awhile before I can eat one without hearing that line in my head. Well done on the entire prompt!

Type me what you think.

