For Georgia of the Valley

sunsetlakeside.copyright.shainbird

Today – just as I missed the sun setting © Shainbird

For Georgia of the valley –
A Monday redeemed
As light in a concave of aura
Diminished in each alley.

Had I gall and a galley,
I’d follow the sun beyond
Cars and comforts, yet a small
Number of sunsets I tally.

Oh if I didn’t dilly-dally,
I would have captured
The sun’s kiss goodnight
For Georgia of the valley.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

Note: I missed the sunset by a minute or two! I’ll try again but I didn’t want to miss attending Bastet’s Pixelventures September 3, 2013, where Georgia said, “Here in Italy, I live in a valley and if there’s one thing you never really get it is a spectacular sunset…The prompt for photographers will be: Show me some real sunsets…the type you can only find in the plains, or over water and of course when you’re on the top of a mountain!  Oh I might add…I appreciate sunsets from hillsides and cities in fact sunsets that are real sunsets, as you see, I live in a pretty closed valley, so a wonderful sunset from a city is a wonderful sunset!!!”

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to For Georgia of the Valley

  1. Bastet says:

    Thank you so much Shainbird! How wonderful! A lovely poem to me! I love the photo, that looks like a whirlpool in the middle of the lake?

    • Shainbird says:

      You’re welcome Georgia! I thought about you without being able to see the sunset, it sort of made it personal for me to capture you one, but I still owe you one, as I wanted to get the sun in the picture 😦 I think that is a whirlpool.

      • Bastet says:

        Now, that is what I’d call a challenge you’ve set for yourself. I’m fascinated by these whirlpools one sometimes sees in lakes. Thanks for thinking about me 🙂 I’m sure you’ll be able to get the photo you want!

  2. Bastet says:

    Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet and commented:
    I’ve been a little down, but I was so pleased and happy reading this post, it really made my day! Thanks so much Shainbird 😀

    • Shainbird says:

      I am sorry to hear you are feeling down, I am glad this helped. You have made my day too. On any busy, push, push Monday, I have never been to the lake and you sent me there today, it felt really good. You have me seeing more sunsets! Have a wonderful day and week and many more wonderful sunsets in the valley Dearest Georgia 🙂

      • Bastet says:

        You really brought my morale up. I’m happy you’ve been seeing more sunsets, makes me feel like I’ve done something important. You continue having a great day and week too dear friend. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Pixelventures’ Photo Finish: 11 September 2013 | We Drink Because We're Poets

  4. idiotwriter says:

    This is so so lovely in ALL ways. Such a special gesture you have made here. AND the picture is actually gorgeous – so soft and gentle.

  5. Cubby says:

    So wonderfully clever. Love it. 🙂

Type me what you think.

