Almost Angels

running.copyright.shainbird

© Shainbird

Trapped between cumulus
And concrete, step after step
Collecting futility, anxious
To take flight as wings form
In laces knotted, grappling
With gravity, breaking free,
Circumventing the everyday.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

Note: This is for Bastet’s Pixelventures: September 10, 2013: Pastimes or hobbies.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Almost Angels

  1. Sahm King says:

    Definition of freedom if I ever read it.

    • Shainbird says:

      This is wonderful to hear you say Sahm, as this is about running and it is the only time I truly feel free in all respects.

      • Sahm King says:

        Ah, NOW I get the laces… The laces threw me off. It felt like freedom (towards the end), but I was thinking about flying. But now that you’ve told me running, I get the laces. Wow. I’m slow. That’s a sign.

        Lovely work, Shainbird. 🙂

        • Shainbird says:

          Thank you Sahm, you’re not slow, in fact, very astute, as it does pertain to freedom in a form I can relate. I remember your analysis of one post I did, the lollipops in the bank, my sister, who read your comment, said, this Sahm guy is so smart to link it like that and I must agree!

          • Sahm King says:

            Lol. Shainbird, you’re a good person. AND a downright master of the craft here. Seriously, I’m still stuck on the laces. See, it’s reading work like this that helps one to learn how to better express one’s self. Okay, I’ll shutup now. For the last 15 minutes I’ve meaning to do something, but I forgot what… :p LOL. Peace to you, Shainbird.

  2. Bastet says:

    Love your running shoes up against the sky!

    Fly beyond cumulus and cirrus
    Let your shoes be like wings,
    Yearning, you reach the plane of freedom
    Sought inside your private inner kingdom,
    Here gravity for you has no hold,
    As your life’s story there is boldy told
    In your deepest soul, to your own heart.
    Nodding to you from the sky, smiles Horus,
    Beloved poetess friend of Bastet,
    Inviting are your creations of light
    Rendering even running shoes,
    Delightful creations of artistic might!

  3. kiwiskan says:

    a lovely combination

  4. Cubby says:

    Brilliant description of taking flight with running! Absolutely loved it. Reowr!

  5. Pingback: Pixelventures Photo Finish: 18 September 2013 | wdbwp

Type me what you think.

