Undercurrents

thoughts swim unexplored
deep marvels remain unthawed
below tip of berg

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Undercurrents

  1. Sahm King says:

    I have no idea why, but every time I think of icebergs, I’m bidden with this chill and shiver. Even so, this piece is deep. It’s impressive how you can encapsulate so much in a haiku.

    • Shainbird says:

      Thank you Sahm, I’ve been reading lately that what we use in daily life as brainpower in conscious living is simply the tip of the iceberg, there is so much in our thought processes hidden below. I’ve got to tap into that!

      • Sahm King says:

        Great minds, Shainbird. I’ve spent some time, too, reflecting on this. What throws me off and confounds me every time is how much the brain is capable of capturing, and how the consciousness, seemingly a part of us, may not actually be our individual…”property”, for lack of a better word.

        Don’t know if you’ve ever seen this, but it’s pretty cool, if you’re into music and science and the like.

        Ode to the Brain: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JB7jSFeVz1U

        • Shainbird says:

          Great minds indeed, loved the video (saved it to watch again and again), I’ll have to hunt down the lectures. The brain is a galaxy of its own. I think I know what you mean about not owning the consciousness out right. In terms of writing, I’ve written sequences that I look back at and know that my consciousness had nothing to do with them other than tapping away at the keys. I like to think that I tapped into the subconscious in that moment. Although, I could not draw a map leading back there if asked at the point of a gun. Maybe it is awareness, maybe epiphany. Maybe it is just damn, hard work at play!

          • Sahm King says:

            Blu first introduced me to the Symphony of Science. First time I saw that video (the first three times), I cried like a baby. I thought it was that good. Errm…don’t tell anyone about that part. :/

            I think it’s all of it. We pluck things out of the ether all the time. The only way I know of to get back to that place is through a particular kind of sleep, something akin to sleep paralysis. That probably sounds crazy, and maybe I’m imagining things, but it works for me. :p

  2. Bastet says:

    great haiku full of undercurrents!

  3. Cubby says:

    A magnificent haiku. The subconscious mind holds an unfathomable wealth of ideas waiting to be fished out.

  4. cindy knoke says:

    simple, powerful, true! kudos~

  5. magnificent.
    I was going to say ‘cool’ haiku but thought the pun unnecessary for such a great piece, you are such a wonder with these, Shainbird! I really, really loved the first line: Thoughts swim unexplored, such depth. VERY nicely done! 🙂

Type me what you think.

