Release Me

yellowballoon.copyright.shainbird

© Shainbird

Release me past morning breath and across divides,
Release me where struggle, spin and a sell subsides.
Release me among the smog, cleansing souls of black,
Release me to whitewashed rooms to dispel attack.
Release me before bread, I’ll bring you to your knees,
Release me for eyes wetter than reverent, endless seas.
Release me to a friend and let me be theirs to be,
Release me into the skin of a long held enemy.
Release me like a yellow balloon into moody skies,
Release me so cruelty from ill word and action dies.
Release me in adults for inner children do laugh loud,
Release me and keep me not in a deathly shroud.
Release me upon this world like seeds angels sow,
Release me now, long before the final horn will blow.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

Note: This post serves to fulfill two prompts. The poem is a contribution for the call to action against cyber-bullying by Georgia and Traces of the Soul. The picture is for Sahm’s Random Acts of Poetry where I’ve attached the poem to a yellow balloon and it has set sail, no littering intended, although my conscience tells me otherwise.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Release Me

  1. Oh wow! So beautiful and sad:( thank you so much!!

  2. Bastet says:

    Great contribution, thanks so much Shainbird a great job done here!

  3. Sreejit Poole says:

    Beautiful words

  4. Pingback: Cyberbullying rap, verse or poem…anyone??? | Traces of the Soul

  5. Oloriel says:

    Beautiful and touching poem and what a creative thing to do tie it to a baloon and let it go 🙂

  6. All that I can say about this one is, awesome, awesome and oh yeah, awesome!!!!!

  7. Cubby says:

    Beautiful message with powerful words. Absolutely wonderful. Loved this. Reowr!

  8. Jeff Nguyen says:

    Cathartic words and imagery. A tension filled world needs more beauty like this.

  9. Sahm King says:

    Shainbird… This is awesome, brilliant, encouraging and so many other things that will lose meaning if I spout on and on and on. Nicely done. Very nicely done. You piece speaks volumes and your RAP… Epic.

  10. Sahm King says:

    Reblogged this on wdbwp and commented:
    Release me by Shainbird. Check it out, my friends.

  11. awomansaved says:

    Incredibly beautiful! This deeply impacted my soul, Deborah

  12. Pingback: I’d Like to Admit Something… | The 13th Floor Paradigm

  13. Pingback: Special Prompt: Cyber-bullying – A Challenge | The 13th Floor Paradigm

  14. Reblogged this on Cher Shares with Stop the Stigma and commented:
    Release Me is a raw and sad reality of cyberbullying…

  15. Pingback: Drink Outside the Box Volume #005: The Wrath of Holmes? | wdbwp

  16. Rob says:

    Awesome doesn’t begin to cover such a beautifully, sad poem.

    There are a few things that I love besides your brilliant words. I love the power behind the repetition of “Release me”. I love the reason you wrote it. I love that you actually released it into the world. I wish you could send one to everyone who needs to read it. So Beautiful!

  17. So beautiful,great blog and I have to say that I am happy to discover it.
    Madi

Type me what you think.

