On Loan

My heart is not my own,
From you, it is on loan.
If love be lost to you,
I’d, too, be also blue.

My mind is not my own,
From you, it is on loan.
If sense is less than more,
Our two and two make four.

My eyes are not my own,
From you, they are on loan.
If tears began to fall,
I’d know without your call.

My life is not my own,
From you, it is on loan.
If days more spent in light,
Our souls will soon take flight.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to On Loan

  1. skywanderer says:

    Absolutely sublime – one of my favourites from you! While reading it as if I “flew” into another world…

  2. Bastet says:

    I love how your poem reads…alas, I fear the romantic giving everything to the other until nothing of us is our own.

  3. Ar Vhee says:

    Excellent piece.

  4. Cubby says:

    Beautiful piece Shainbird. 🙂

  5. hope all is well, pal 🙂

  6. cav12 says:

    There is only one word that comes to mind – Beautiful.
    Thank you for this gorgeous poem.

Type me what you think.

