Nonexistent Exemplars

20131102-000530.jpg

© Shainbird

Beyond realms unknown,
Unknown, exemplars nonexistent,
Nonexistent for us to know better,
Better than killing, oppressing, taking,
Taking from others, while building,
Building a premise that we are good,
Good measured only by our worst deed,
‘Deed we never circumvent our problems,
Problems unaddressed, body and soul two,
Two-footed, wingless creatures reaching,
Reaching for blinding clouds to be the best,
Best we traverse our lands together as one,
One never knows what lies in realms beyond.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

Note: Thanks to Georgia, who introduced me to Loop Poetry, check out her offerings: The EndWhen It’s Over and her powerful piece, Fear.

Note: I would like to wish the best of times to fellow bloggers spending the next 30 days with their muses for the NaNoWriMo. My word count today was 1876. 

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Nonexistent Exemplars

  1. Bastet says:

    Sahinbird…THIS is a loop poem, very well done. Now I feel challenged! I’m ladte unfortunately for the WDBWP’s Monday prompt on fear…but I’ll try to write it in loop and see what comes of it. This photo is lovely…you should do photo challenges more often so more people can see them, you’re good!

  2. Pingback: WDBWP Monday Prompt (late) | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  3. Oloriel says:

    Amazing poem Shaini! And congrats on the word count! 😀

  4. Is there a name for this form? Very nice SB. I am vacillating on making the commitment to NaBlo, but I should no matter what… Peace. (=

  5. Rob says:

    The poem is great! I, too, learn about a lot of different poetry forms from Georgia. And, I might have the Loop a try.

    I love the photo, too!

  6. Great wordplay with the beginnings and ends of the lines.

Type me what you think.

