Fate

japaneseredmaple.copyright.shainbird

© Shainbird

beauty, eyes survive
souls seized in cages of cold
released to wither

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

Note: This is for Georgia’s Pixelventures’ Close up: December 14, 2013

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Fate

  1. Pingback: Pixelventures Photo Finish! December 18, 2013 | We Drink Because We're Poets

  2. Bastet says:

    Thanks so much for this beautiful effort…really lovely! I’ve encluded you into this week’s photo finish.

    • Shainbird says:

      Thank you Georgia, I didn’t know if I made it in time, but you inspired me so I couldn’t just post it alone.

      • Bastet says:

        Ah….it is such a lovely photo and haiku! Glad we have a thing called edit so I could update this into the post!

        • Shainbird says:

          Much obliged and it is nice to get back to prompts, I miss them!

          • Bastet says:

            I’ve missed seeing you around lately in fact. These past three months have been too chock full of stuff and I won’t even begin to grumble about December….glad to see you, you’ve always been a plus for these prompts when you participate!

            • Shainbird says:

              Ciao Georgia, I’ve missed being out here too, especially all the wonderful posts flying overhead that miss my radar, things have been getting busy but I feel lost at times when I don’t have time to post. I hope to get into the swing of things again. Thank you dear friend. I hope you are enjoying the season and the remains of the year!

              • Bastet says:

                Know what you mean about things busying up…I’m beginning to have a few problems myself, and really should schedule posts because soon I won’t be able to write them directly at all. But things will calm down eventually and so I’ll be able to get back to my easy paced life ( 😉 ) I’m enjoying the preparations for the season…fun to redecorate one’s house into Christmas Wonderland … take care of yourself dear girl…and have fun with lots of serenity!

  3. idiotwriter says:

    Beautiful – really really stunning

  4. What an amazing photo… and probably a once in a life time. Just gorgeous!
    I guess you had that bad storm that passed through. My parents couldn’t beleive the snow they had… 4 days of it. Seems strange since we rarely get snow in Decemeber at all in Southern Ontario. Shanghai has had 2 steady days of rain, so now we are extra cold and damp. Brrr!

    • Shainbird says:

      Thank you CTB. Definitely rare, and we barely get any ice or snow here in Texas, USA. Our town actually shutdown due to dangerous weather conditions. So in my explorations this sight just stunned me. I hope you are doing well in Shanghai, thank you for stopping here 🙂

      • We had a storm in Canada too where we are from. It hit the day we would have been traveling home for the holidays. This year we went to seim reap Cambodia instead. It is chilly here… Not average weather. At least it is warmer than home and Shanghai!

  5. Robin says:

    I hate ice storms and freezing rain, except that they are so beautiful. You captured that beauty in this photo! How amazing that there are still leaves on the tree – and the ice didn’t pull them off. Great haiku 🙂

    • Shainbird says:

      Thank you Robin! The cold took us by surprise, just a few days ago that tree was beautifully warmed by sunshine, and then the ice took over, here in Texas where it is rarely dealt with, the roads and the city ended up closed. Now we are back to our norm. I hope you are keeping warm and safe and I hope you had a great holiday!

Type me what you think.

