This Little Moment

Before a friend persuades
And television invades
Take this little moment.
A breath inhaled,
A dream set sailed
At this little moment.
Toil and trouble
Like a bursted bubble
In this little moment.
Beyond philosophy,
A lot can be
By this little moment.

Copyright © 2013 Shainbird. All rights reserved.

Note: Conversation sparked while trying to figure out the form of this poem, (perhaps it is a mutation of either a villanelle or a kyrielle). Check out Georgia’s lovely Villanelle: Two Cats. 

About Shainbird

"A lonely craftsman putting one word after another."
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to This Little Moment

  1. Bastet says:

    I do so love this form and you do such a good job with it! 🙂

  2. Bastet says:

    Shainbird, I don’t remember the name of this form, could you tell me what it is please (she said blushing).

    • Shainbird says:

      You know, Georgia, I was playing around with the words and phrases, I am not sure if this is a form, or if I absent-mindedly went along a form unknowingly, that would be interesting. If you do find figure it out before me, let me know 🙂

  3. Bastet says:

    Hmmm…I remembered that there is a form that has a repeated line in it…therefore I thought this must be it, but couldn’t remember for the life of me the name of it! I’ll try to go through some older posts, maybe something will pop up. Thanks for answering so promptly 🙂

  4. Bastet says:

    Ah! It’s a modified villanelle! Brava, that your subconscious leads you into such a lovely path!

  5. Pingback: Villanelle: Two Cats | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  6. Cubby says:

    Aw, I love this. You’re absolutely right, a little moment has so much potential for “being”. 🙂

  7. I am thinking of the moments between disruptions, when we try to write a poem or two!

  8. SSMatthews says:

    Enjoyed that little ditty!

  9. Pingback: Two Cats Revisited – Villanelle May 1, 2015 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

Type me what you think.

